Exclusive Bob Dylan Track With New Issue Of MOJO

A highlight of the pending Rolling Thunder box set heads up A1 package including Dylan, Scott Walker, Metallica, Elton, Patti Smith and more.


AN EXCLUSIVE BOB DYLAN SONG from a forthcoming box set is the jewel in the crown of the newest MOJO magazine, which arrives in UK shops from Tuesday, April 23. The extraordinary version of The Lonesome Death Of Hattie Carroll from a Boston Music Hall gig of November 1975 is one of the highlights of The Rolling Thunder Revue – The 1975 Live Recordings, a 14-CD box set that serves as a companion to the Rolling Thunder documentary film, directed by Martin Scorsese that’s coming soon to Netflix.

MOJO 307: Bob Dylan, Scott Walker and Amyl & The Sniffers.

MOJO 307: Bob Dylan, Scott Walker and Amyl & The Sniffers.

The Rolling Thunder theme, and Dylan’s upcoming Hyde Park show are marked by an in-depth cover feature including input from Joan Baez, T Bone Burnett, Roger McGuinn and other key Rolling Thunder survivors, while Dylan’s continuing ability to reinvent himself on stage is reflected in pieces about Blackbushe in 1978, the legendary 1975 SNACK benefit (where Dylan and Neil Young shared the stage), Dylan’s current live approach and the Never Ending Tour of 1988-92, as recalled by Dylan’s right-hand man G.E. Smith.

Also in the new MOJO: a moving tribute to Scott Walker, with unpublished interviews that reveal the man inside the enigma; Metallica revisit the Dawn Of Thrash with the help of Megadeth, Anthrax and Slayer; plus Patti Smith, Lee “Scratch” Perry, kd lang, Amyl & The Sniffers, Ranking Roger and Elton John’s Goodbye Yellow Brick Road apotheosis.

And the last word on new albums by The National, Vampire Weekend, Neil Young, Mavis Staples, Morrissey and more.