The 14th MOJO Playlist Of 2018

This week’s navel-gazing selections from the MOJO office stereo: all bases covered!

The 14th MOJO Playlist Of 2018

Lots of headline business this week, notably the arrival of Tranquility Base Hotel & Casino by our current MOJO cover stars, the Arctic Monkeys, and the new Donald Glover/Childish Gambino single. Let us know what you make of those, and please do try some of the deeper discoveries in the latest playlist: two personal favorites here are the Ethiopiques-style jams of Kamal Keila and the beautiful new meditation from the avant-folk guitarist, Daniel Bachman, but it’s all worth a listen.

1 Childish Gambino – This Is America (RCA)

2 Brendon Anderegg – June (Thrill Jockey)

3 Daniel Bachman – The Morning Star (Three Lobed)

4 Gregory Isaacs – Ikon: The Best Of Gregory Isaacs, The Cool Ruler (Island)

5 Luluc – Sculptor (Sub Pop)

6 Chris Forsyth & The Solar Motel Band – Rare Dreams (No Quarter)

7 Dirty Projectors – Lamp Lit Prose (Domino)

8 White Denim – Performance (City Slang)

9 Snail Mail – Lush (Matador)

10 Alfredo Thiermann & Tres Warren – Land In The Sky (BYM Records)

11 Kamal Keila – Muslims And Christians (Habibi Funk)

12 Orbital – Tiny Foldable Cities (ACP Recordings)

13 Dobet Gnahore - Miziki (LA Café/Wagram Music)

14 David Sylvian & Holger Czukay - Plight & Premonition (Grönland)

15 Arctic Monkeys – Tranquility Base Hotel And Casino (Domino)

16 Cowboy Junkies – All That Reckoning (Proper)

17 Jim James – Uniform Distortion (ATO)