New MusicJohn Mulvey

The first MOJO playlist of 2018

Hear the highlights of this week's MOJO listening sessions

By New MusicJohn Mulvey
The first MOJO playlist of 2018


A warm welcome to this first round-up of essential 2018 listening. New music from Jack White, David Byrne and Yo La Tengo? Elevated folk-rock and electronica? Ambient country? North African jazz? Revivalist soul? Kosmische jams? And the return of the Hot Snakes. It’s all here; please dig in

1 Trembling Bells – Dungeness (Tin Angel)

2 Carlton Melton – Mind Minerals (Agitated)

3 Cath & Phil Tyler – The Ox And The Ax (Thread)

4 Nathan Fake – Sunder EP (Ninja Tune)

5 Holger Czukay – Cinema (Grönland)

6 Suss – Ghost Box (Self-Released)

7 Mouse On Mars – Dimensional People (Thrill Jockey)

8 Jack White – Connected By Love/Respect Commander (Third Man)

9 Chris Carter – Chemistry Lessons Volume 1 (Mute)

10 Hot Snakes – Jericho Sirens (Sub Pop)

11 Daniel Avery – Song For Alpha (Phantasy Sound)

12 Prana Crafter – Bodhi Cheetah’s Choice (Beyond Beyond Is Beyond)

13 Yo La Tengo – There’s A Riot Going On (Matador)

14 Amen Dunes – Freedom (Sacred Bones)

15 Amir ElSaffar/Rivers Of Sound – Not Two (New Amsterdam)

16 Dean Ween Group – Rock2 (Schnitzel)

17 Durand Jones & The Indications - Durand Jones & The Indications (Dead Oceans)

18 Josh T Pearson – The Straight Hits! (Mute)

19 David Byrne – American Utopia (Nonesuch)

20 Red River Dialect – Broken Stay Open Sky (Paradise Of Bachelors)

21 Rolling Blackouts Coastal Fever - Mainland (Sub Pop)

Picture: Rick Froberg